No products in the cart.


Van Gisbergen sweeps into the championship lead

Shane van Gisbergen storms into the championship lead with three wins from three races in Tasmania.

27 March 2022

Shane van Gisbergen has completed a clean sweep of the NED Whisky Tasmania SuperSprint, in the process retaking the 2022 Repco Supercars Championship lead. 

Van Gisbergen won all three races at Symmons Plains Raceway, becoming the first driver to win all three races over the course of a Tasmanian event since Garth Tander in 2005.

It was van Gisbergen’s 57th career victory, moving into fourth outright on the all-time wins’ list behind Jamie Whincup (124 wins) Craig Lowndes (110) and Mark Skaife (90).

“Our pace wasn’t up to scratch in qualifying yesterday, and even though I’ve never been the best qualifier, Andrew (Edwards, race engineer) had some ideas which we tried today, and my car turned out to be awesome in both qualifying sessions,” said van Gisbergen.

“In the races, we had to do it the hard way to get into the lead, but the braking on my car was really good, and I was able to get some really cool passes under brakes.

“I couldn’t be happier walking away with two wins today. Although it was the perfect weekend points-wise, we always have things we need to improve on and there’s always things to get better at.

“Our procedures and management of qualifying could have been better over the weekend, and there’s a few more things we can look at before the Australian Grand Prix (AGP).”

Rookie Broc Feeney claimed a maiden podium in Race 4, in a one-two finish for Triple Eight Race Engineering.

Dick Johnson Racing duo Will Davison and Anton De Pasquale shared the podium with van Gisbergen in Race 5, moving into third and second respectively in the championship standings. 

Chaz Mostert led the championship heading into Tasmania but dropped to fourth, while David Reynolds and Cameron Waters took their first podiums of the season.