No products in the cart.


Van Gisbergen and Stanaway win Bathurst 

Triple Eight Race Engineering becomes the most successful team at Bathurst with victory for Shane van Gisbergen and Richie Stanaway.

08 October 2023

Triple Eight Race Engineering’s Shane van Gisbergen and Richie Stanaway have scored a comfortable win in the 2023 Repco Bathurst 1000.

The Camaro of van Gisbergen and Stanaway won by 20 seconds, giving Chevrolet its first win in Bathurst 500/1000 history on the 60th anniversary of the event.

The polesitting Camaro of Erebus Motorsport’s Brodie Kostecki and David Russell came home in second after losing ground on pit strategy early in the race, while Dick Johnson Racing’s Anton De Pasquale and Tony D’Alberto were best of the Ford runners in third place.

Triple Eight’s Broc Feeney and Jamie Whincup looked set for a podium but suffered a late gearbox issue, following a similar issue for the team’s wildcard entry of Craig Lowndes and Zane Goddard.

NASCAR-bound van Gisbergen is the first driver in 15 years to win consecutive Bathurst 1000s, scoring his third Bathurst win in the last four years, while Stanaway will return to a full-time drive with Grove Racing in 2024 as a Bathurst winner.

They become only the second all-New Zealand combination to win Bathurst, following in the footsteps of Greg Murphy and Steven Richards (1999).

It’s also Triple Eight’s 10th Bathurst win, surpassing Holden Dealer Team/HDT Racing’s tally of nine Bathurst 500/1000 wins.

Van Gisbergen closed in on Kostecki’s championship lead, down to 131 points with two rounds remaining on the Gold Coast and Adelaide.

The 60th anniversary of the event played host to the third biggest Bathurst crowd ever, 204,069.