No products in the cart.


Supercars confirms formats, tyres and pitlane order

The racing formats and more for Supercars in 2023.

10 February 2023

The 2023 Repco Supercars Championship will be contested over 28 races over 12 rounds, following confirmation of the race formats, tyre allocation and pitlane order for the start of the Gen3 era.

For the first time since 2018, there will be multiple endurance races featuring drivers and co-drivers, with the Penrite Oil Sandown 500 the curtain-raiser for the Repco Bathurst 1000.

The Thrifty Newcastle 500, NTI Townsville 500, Beaurepaires Sydney SuperNight, Boost Mobile Gold Coast 500 and VALO Adelaide 500 will be two-race rounds.

The other five events in Melbourne, Perth, Tasmania, Darwin and Tailem Bend will feature at least three races under the SuperSprint format – three 100km-long sprint races at all but Melbourne, with fours races at the Australian Grand Prix (one 100km long, one 80km and two 70km sprints).

Newcastle, Townsville, Sydney, Sandown, Bathurst, Gold Coast and Adelaide will feature refuelling.

Six events will also feature top 10 Shootouts; Newcastle, Townsville, Sandown, Bathurst, Gold Coast and Adelaide.

The qualifying system is split across Format 1 and Format 2 – Format 1 grid positions determined by a single qualifying session and Format 2 a three-part knockout qualifying.

There are three dry compounds of Dunlop’s control SP Sport Maxx tyres – hard, soft, super soft and a new wet weather tyre.

The soft tyre will be used at Newcastle, Perth, Townsville, Sydney, Tailem Bend, Bathurst, Gold Coast and Adelaide.

The super soft will be used in Melbourne, Tasmania, Darwin and Sandown.

The hard tyre’s only appearance will come at Melbourne, the the only mixed compound round of 2023, with Bathurst running on soft tyres for the first time.

The pitlane order for 2023 is:

1Triple Eight Race Engineering
2Triple Eight Race Engineering
3Dick Johnson Racing
4Dick Johnson Racing
5Tickford Racing
6Tickford Racing
7Tickford Racing
8Tickford Racing
9Walkinshaw Andretti United
10Walkinshaw Andretti United
11Grove Racing
12Grove Racing
13Erebus Motorsport
14Erebus Motorsport
15Team 18
16Team 18
17Brad Jones Racing
18Brad Jones Racing
19Brad Jones Racing
20Brad Jones Racing
21Matt Stone Racing
22Matt Stone Racing
23PremiAir Racing
24PremiAir Racing
25Blanchard Racing Team

The race formats for 2023 are:

EventPracticeRaceFormatShootoutRace length
Newcastle3 x 45min11Yes250km
Newcastle 21Yes250km
Melbourne2 x 30min31No100km
Melbourne 41No80km
Melbourne 51No70km
Melbourne 61No70km
Perth1 x 90min72No100km
Perth 81No100km
Perth 91No100km
Tasmania2 x 30min101No100km
Tasmania 111No100km
Tasmania 121No100km
Darwin2 x 30min132No100km
Darwin 141No100km
Darwin 151No100km
Townsville2 x 30min161Yes250km
Townsville 171Yes250km
Sydney^2 x 30min182No200km
Sydney 191No140km
The Bend2 x 30min202No100km
The Bend 211No100km
The Bend 221No100km
Sandown4 x 30min, 1 x 20min WU231Yes500km
Bathurst6 x 60min, 1 x 20min WU241Yes1000km
Gold Coast2 x 30min251Yes250km
Gold Coast261Yes250km
Adelaide3 x 30min271Yes250km
Adelaide 281Yes250km