No products in the cart.


Payne scores first win as Erebus secures teams’ title

Matt Payne and Brodie Kostecki celebrate race and championship wins at the VAILO Adelaide 500.

26 November 2023

Grove Racing’s Matt Payne dominated the final race of the 2023 Repco Supercars Championship, scoring his first win at the VAILO Adelaide 500.

Payne started alongside new champion Brodie Kostecki on the front row and led into the opening turns. From there he wasn’t headed throughout the 78-lap race, becoming the 10th different driver to win a race in 2023.

It marked the second time in two years that a rookie won the Adelaide 500, with Triple Eight Race Engineering driver Broc Feeney winning the same race in 2022.

Youngsters Payne and Feeney led home veteran David Reynolds in Race 28, who added to his Saturday podium with third on Sunday. It was the fourth consecutive win for Ford drivers from the final four races of 2023.

“I’ve got to thank Penrite Racing for the fast car, it was such a jet,” said Payne. “Everyone’s been working so hard here, to crack a win with Dave at the Gold Coast was amazing, and now finally I get to get my first win in Adelaide. So stoked, so proud of everyone.”

After sealing the title yesterday, Kostecki officially celebrated his maiden Supercars championship in front of thousands of fans on the streets of Adelaide. The West Australian rounded out the season with another title as Erebus Motorsport claimed its first-ever teams’ championship following Kostecki and outgoing teammate Will Brown’s stellar season in their Chevrolet Camaros.

Kostecki is the 26th winner of the Australian Touring Car Championship/Supercars Championship winner and ends 2023 with six victories, his first ever ARMOR ALL Pole Award with 10 pole positions and 18 podium finishes from 28 races.

It was a heartbreaking end to full-time Supercars competition for Shane van Gisbergen, who didn’t see the chequered flag for the second day running after being forced into the lane with issues caused by tyre build-up on his #97 Camaro.

With van Gisbergen scoring no points, and with champion-elect Kostecki and Will Brown eighth and 14th, Erebus added a maiden teams’ championship to its drivers’ title. The end margin between Erebus and Triple Eight was 176 points, having been 161 heading into Sunday. Kostecki’s title-winning margin was 323 points, with van Gisbergen failing to score all weekend.