No products in the cart.


Mostert and van Gisbergen share the wins at Albert Park

Shane van Gisbergen wins the 2022 Larry Perkins Trophy at Albert Park.

10 April 2022

Supercars champion Shane van Gisbergen has claimed his first Larry Perkins Trophy for the most points across the Beaurepaires Melbourne 400, despite a tyre failure in the final race of the event.

Defending Bathurst champion Chaz Mostert celebrated his 30th birthday with victory in the final race, taking two wins across the event.

“The boys did a fantastic pitstop,” said Walkinshaw Andretti United’s Mostert.

“You’ve got to put Shane under pressure, he obviously had a beast under him.

“We’ve still got some work to do, but to get two wins this weekend is awesome.”

Dick Johnson Racing duo Will Davison and Anton De Pasquale finished a rollercoaster weekend with a second and third in the final race, with Grove Racing’s David Reynolds and Lee Holdsworth also scoring top-three finishes across the event.

Van Gisbergen’s overall victory in the Larry Perkins Trophy standings was aided by a retirement for closest rival Reynolds in the final race.

“It was so cool to be presented the Larry Perkins Trophy by Larry Perkins himself – it was a real privilege to win that one,” said van Gisbergen.

“I love Larry and his history in the sport, even seeing him now undertaking all of the projects he is and how enthusiastic he is about everything – it’s great.”

Van Gisbergen leaves Melbourne with a reduced 144-point lead over De Pasquale, with Mostert 18 points in arrears in third.

CLICK HERE for the current Repco Supercars Championship points standings.