No products in the cart.


Holdsworth and Lowndes honoured with awards

All the winners from Supercars’ end-of-season gala awards night.

06 December 2022

Bathurst legend Craig Lowndes and Australian motorsport legend Tim Schenken have joined the Supercars Hall of Fame, while outgoing full-time driver Lee Holdsworth has claimed the 2022 Barry Sheene Medal.

Holdsworth claimed his first Barry Sheene Medal, which is presented to the driver adjudged to have displayed outstanding leadership, media interaction, character, personality, fan appeal and sportsmanship throughout the season.

While Holdsworth claimed the medal in his final year of full-time driving, the driver replacing the veteran at Grove Racing in 2023, Matt Payne, won the Mike Kable Young Gun Award.

Cameron Waters was voted by his peers as the drivers’ driver, while the VALO Adelaide 500 won the fan voted event of the year award after its return that was capped off with Shane van Gisbergen’s post-race celebrations.

Van Gisbergen received his third drivers’ title on stage while Holden was named the manufacturer of the year following van Gisbergen’s record-breaking 21 wins in 2022.

Lowndes and Schenken received a standing ovation when they were announced as the Hall of Fame inductees for 2022.

Lowndes is a three-time Supercars champion, a five-time Barry Sheene Medalist, and a seven-time winner of the Repco Bathurst 1000 and two-time winner of the Bathurst 12 Hour.

At this year’s Repco Bathurst 1000, Lowndes became the first driver in history to start 300 Championship rounds in ATCC/Supercars and set a new record for the best ever result for a wildcard entry.

Long-time Repco Supercars Championship race director Tim Schenken OAM retired from his role at the end of 2021 and was honoured with the famous race control tower at Mount Panorama renamed the Tim Schenken OAM Race Control Centre is his honour.

Schenken, a former racer, took on the top race control job for the Australia Touring Car Championship in 1987.The 78-year-old participated in 36 Formula 1 Grands Prix between 1970 and 1974 and is also a Le Mans class winner.

During the Adelaide 500 a number of other end of season awards were announced including the best presented team award, which in 2022 went to the Red Bull Ampol Racing Team.

The fans vote for most popular driver went to van Gisbergen after his dominant season in which he claimed the most wins in a single season and won the Repco Bathurst 1000 for a second time alongside Garth Tander.

The volunteers of this year’s Great Race at Bathurst were voted the volunteer group of the year for delivering a memorable event despite the huge deluge of rain across race week.

Commentator Chad Neylon received the Supercars media award for the first time in his career.

Waters won the ARMOR ALL pole position award for the first time while Declan Fraser claimed the Dunlop Super2 Series pole award, sneaking past Payne after dominating qualifying in Adelaide.

Fraser claimed the Dunlop Super2 Series champion award for the first time in his short career.

Triple Eight Race Engineering’s dominant season was capped with the Brisbane-based squad winning both the Super2 Series and Supercars teams’ championship.