No products in the cart.


Ford scores breakthrough Gen3 win in Townsville

Anton De Pasquale ends Ford’s winless run with victory in Townsville.

09 July 2023

The Ford Mustang has scored its first on-track victory of the Gen3 era in Townsville, with Dick Johnson Racing’s Anton De Pasquale winning Race 17. However, questions remain over parity between the Mustang and Chevrolet Camaro despite pre-event changes to the Mustang.

De Pasquale scored a comfortable win in Race 17, his first podium of the 2023 season, though he had an extra set of newer tyres compared to his rivals.

Erebus Motorsport’s Will Brown took the championship lead following victory in Race 16, moving of teammate Brodie Kostecki after gearbox troubles for the latter. Broc Feeney continued his championship charge with second place, while Chaz Mostert was best of the Fords in third place. Mostert later admitted he felt the Mustang was still at a disadvantage compared to the Camaro.

While De Pasquale put Ford on top in Race 17, Camaros filled the next six places with Kostecki and Andre Heimgartner on the podium and Feeney finished ahead of Shane van Gisbergen following team orders from Triple Eight Race Engineering to ensure Feeney could lay claim to the most points scored across the event.

Brown holds a seven-point lead over Kostecki in the championship standings, with Feeney, van Gisbergen and Mostert rounding out the top five entering the next event at Sydney Motorsport Park.