No products in the cart.


The Blue Oval hero cars and stars

Celebrating the legendary Ford cars and drivers in Australian touring cars in SupercarXtra Magazine issue #128.

30 July 2023

Ford’s storied history in Australian touring cars has produced hero cars and stars throughout the decades, as we celebrate in SupercarXtra Magazine issue #128, a Ford special edition.

CLICK HERE to purchase the print edition of issue #128.

CLICK HERE to access the digital edition of issue #128.

The Falcon is without doubt the most storied Ford name, with the home-grown models winning in the Group C and V8 eras.

The XC GS500 delivered Ford its most famous moment with the one-two formation finish at Bathurst in 1977. For a fairytale moment, it is the XD and Dick Johnson’s recovery from ‘The Rock’ incident in 1980 to winning the championship-Bathurst double in 1981.

The XY GTHO Phase III is probably the most sought-after Falcon, while the XR will go down in history as the first V8-powered winner at Mount Panorama. The BA ended Holden’s rule with a dominant three-year period, while the FG X marked the end of the Falcon era. All could be considered iconic Falcons.

Allan Moffat and Dick Johnson stand out in terms of Fords legends, taking the fight to Holden hero Peter Brock across three decades. Before them it was Ian Geoghegan, who was Ford’s first star with a run of four championships in his Mustang in the 1960s.

Moffat started the Falcon success in the championship in 1973 and battled for supremacy against Brock at Mount Panorama. When Moffat moved on to Mazda, Johnson stepped up and took over the Ford mantle with his heroics at Mount Panorama.

Glenn Seton and John Bowe were the dominant Falcon drivers at the start of the V8 era, winning three championships.

After Holden became the dominant force, Marcos Ambrose endeared himself to Ford fans by ending the Commodore’s rule with two successive championship wins. Mark Winterbottom will also go down as a Falcon legend for winning Bathurst and a championship in the midst of a period of Holden rule.

Triple Eight’s Craig Lowndes and Jamie Whincup claimed the only Bathurst three-peat for the Falcon at Bathurst before Triple Eight’s defection to Holden, with Scott McLaughlin flying the Ford flag in recent years with a run of titles.