No products in the cart.


Super grid: Race of champions

The champions of Australian touring cars ranked by titles.

20 August 2023

In total, 25 drivers have won the Australian Touring Car Championship/Supercars championship between 1960 and today.

We put these drivers together on a grid to see how this dream ‘Race of Champions’ would look in SupercarXtra Magazine issue #129, celebrating the greatest drivers in the history of Australian touring cars. With drivers with the most titles higher up the grid, we’ve also picked the most dominant championship-winning cars for the multi-time champions.

The grid countdown begins with David McKay. McKay won the first Australian Touring Car Championship in a Jaguar Mark 1 3.4 at Gnoo Blas near Orange, New South Wales, in 1960. The motoring journalist enjoyed a distinguished racing career, highlighted by the championship win.

The reigning champion Shane van Gisbergen features with his Holden ZB Commodore from 2022. Van Gisbergen confirmed his promise by winning the championship in his first season with Triple Eight Race Engineering in 2016. He rose back to the top in 2021, backing that up with a crushing run in 2022 that set a new benchmark in terms of dominant seasons.

At the head of the grid is Jamie Whincup, who holds the record for most championship wins, in his Ford BF Falcon from 2008. His first championship win in 2008 was a clinic, winning 15 races across the season. Despite missing an entire round in New Zealand following a qualifying crash, Whincup still won his first title by a big margin.

CLICK HERE to purchase the print edition of issue #129.

CLICK HERE to purchase the digital edition of issue #129.